top of page
Search
  • Nathalie Tamman

Journal: Imagiphor...Spring Break Edition

You probably took some photos on your Spring Break....briefly look through your camera roll (yes, on your phone) and find 3 images to share (you will post them to a blog post with explanations after sharing them with peers in class):

1. The first image is ICONIC of your break...that is, if you could sum up your entire 2 weeks in one photo, what would it be?

This is me chilling near the hotel by my house with my friends. This sums up 90% of my vacation!



2. The second is a VISUAL METAPHOR - find a photo that could be a metaphor for something - for example, an abstract concept like "hope", "resilience", "fear", or "love". Visual metaphors have no right or wrong, as long as you are able to defend why it is so.


I was walking around my neighborhood during spring break and I was just thinking about all the things I had to do (schoolwork, birthdays, etc.) I looked at the odd STOP sign and I thought that this is God telling me to stop worrying and to live in the moment and enjoy my spring break. I would not have noticed the sign had it not been oddly slanted like this. The rest of my vacation was very fun because I just stopped my chronic worrying and lived in the moment.


3. The third image is a VISUAL METAPHOR RELATED to the LITERATURE WE ARE STUDYING - you could choose something that relates to a character or an idea / theme in the work. For example, something that's a metaphor for "ambition" (Macbeth) or an image that's a metaphor for "isolation" (Kokoro).


I feel like this represents Sensei in the novel "Kokoro" by Natsume Soseki because beneath the dark shadows and clouds there is beauty and purpose in Sensei.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Scent Log (10 Scents)

Your Challenge: The Weekend Olfactory Diary This weekend, keep track of the odors you smell. This is a challenge in being observant and mindful. 1. Log at least 10 scents from your weekend. Write what

About Me

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
Join My Mailing List

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font.

 

Read More

 

bottom of page