top of page
Search
  • Nathalie Tamman

Scent Log (10 Scents)

Your Challenge: The Weekend Olfactory Diary

This weekend, keep track of the odors you smell. This is a challenge in being observant and mindful.

1. Log at least 10 scents from your weekend. Write what you smell (how can you identify it? what are the characteristics?)

2. Log WHERE and WHEN you captured the scent.

3. Identify if you have any memories about these smells (do they trigger specific memories?) OR the mood that they inspire.

___________________________________________________________________

1. paint - smells dry and artificial; smelled when arriving at my apartment building's main lobby; I remember Christmas parties being held there so the mood is familiarity.

2. vanilla - the sweet and simple scent of vanilla; smelled it when I stepped into my sister's car because she wears essential oils like vanilla; reminds me of the time I went on a field trip to a place in Manoa that grew vanilla.

3. weed - the warm, salty, and offensive smell of pot lingers in the air as I arrive in the garage, its particularly strong in my neighbors parking stall even though he is not there, the mood feels smug and tranquil yet fun.

4. salt- the warm, misty, and strong smell of salt radiates the air when I step on the beachfront around 4pm. This smell has always been apart of my home so it also feels nostalgiac.

5. green onion and cream - as I walk by the Kahala Hotel where I live by I smell a salty yet smooth scent coming from the Plumeria restaurant. This smell has always been unique because I only smell it whenever I walk by The Plumeria.

6. pasta - a rich, carby smell coming from the kitchen as my mom makes dinner. I smell the herbs, the meat, the onion, cheese, garlic, wine, everything coming from the kitchen. It smells good just because I haven't eaten it in a while, otherwise I would have rolled my eyes at the scent because as kids we used to have it every other lunch and dinner because my mom only knows how to cook pasta (now we cook most of our own food)

7. cheesecake - it's my older sister's birthday and her favorite type of cake is cheesecake. I smell the sweet yet cheesy smell, the sugary gram crust, the berries on top of the cake, the VANILLA WHICH I LOVE!!! Reminds me of her other birthdays because she always gets the same cake. It gave a good feeling of hunger and satisfaction later.

8. sunrise- I cannot smell the actual sun but I can smell the fresh morning, the air feels damp and cold and there is a woody smell on the beach from a barbecue that happened last night, gives me a positive mood for the duration of the morning

9. feta cheese - we went to a greek restaurant and I smell a stinky yet familiar smell that actually smells yummy. I love greek food because it makes me feel full, but not stuffed like italian food does. the feta cheese scent made me feel satisfied

10. coconut - we cracked open a coconut and the smell was uniquely from a coconut. The husk smelled salty and coarse, the shell smell woody and the meat smelled like good smelling sunscreen. brought back memories of when we used to use SUN Bum.

11. trees of Waimanalo Beach - smelled so natural and clean, and fresh - gives me a clean outlook on life, a happy attitude.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
About Me

© 2023 by Going Places. Proudly created with Wix.com

  • White Facebook Icon
Join My Mailing List

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me. It’s easy. Just click “Edit Text” or double click me to add your own content and make changes to the font.

 

Read More

 

bottom of page